October 9, 2012

  • My fave coffee at Sarrosa International Hotel

    Food

    Its coffee from civet cat droppings once again and this time its from a coffee shop that mainly sells coffee from civet cat droppings, carrying my favorite brand, Coffee Alamid of Arengga Bote Central.

    I am not sure if this one fairtrade though, because when I asked the coffee shop manager about fairtrade, she had no idea what it is. So, I would reckon that Arengga Bote Central have ventured into non-Fairtrade products for them to be able to make money, because come to think of it, there is no money in fairtrade, its all about social enterprise. 

    During our recent meeting with Mr. Jun Perocillo III, resident manager of Sarrosa International Hotel and Residential Suites (F. Cabahug St., Cebu City), Sir Jun proudly offered us to try some rare coffee from one of the hotel's newest concessionaires, Haus of Barako. I've known Sir Jun from way back when I was asked to make a story on Days Hotel's newest food offerings. He was Days Hotel's resident manager then.

    To my surprise, Haus of Barako sell blends of Arengga's Coffee Alamid. Well, yes, the price can be expensive at P255 per cup, but for a foreigner its reasonably cheap (around US$6-7 per cup), that is why I was not surprised when the hotel's public relations officer, Ms. Rolette Veloso, said that the coffee is a hit among its foreign guests. 

    I had the stronger blend made from barako (liberica) beans, but because the beans already went through the digestive tract of the civet cat it is less acidic. Honestly, it was truly an enjoyable cup and I would say that it made the meeting even more productive.

    In Cebu there is only one Haus of Barako and apparently the only coffee shop where you can get this wonderful gift of nature, and that is at Sarrosa International Hotel and Residential Suites.

    In my talk with Haus of Barako's owner, Mr. Christopher Gonzaga, he said that although beans of Civet Cat coffee can be bought in specialty shops only Haus of Barako sells it as a drink. He said that he already has an agreement with the supplier of the beans.

    Definitely, this cup won't be my last. Oh yes, did I mention that the outside of the mug is painted with thermal paint where it turns transparent to reveal the print below it when it is heated. It makes the drinking experience even more fun.

    What would it take for you to drink coffee that's been pooped by a wild animal?

    Video from Coffee Alamid on YouTube/BBC. Edited October 14, 2012.

    NEXT | Tribo's Cup | PREVIOUS

Comments (13)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment