February 19, 2012

  • 7 things about me

    Thoughts

    And I thought I'd be inactive... Well, I was and still am, so please forgive me if I can't post more often or visit your sites from time to time. I miss reading your posts guys.

    So, anyway, @xbeautifully_broken_downx tagged me on her post, 7 Things, asking me to also share seven things about me. My gratitude dear friend for the tag. Here goes my 7 things:

    1. I love sour fruits. Just a few moments ago I was enjoying my kamias (fruit from the cucumber tree) with so much gusto. Dipped in very sour vinegar and soy sauce plus sald. My favorite beverage is actually Cafe Bola's Kamias juice. Unfortunately, lately, they have not been serving it. What else is my favorite? Green mango dipped in the same sauce with like 10 African birdseye chili. Yum!

    2. Valentines 2012 was spent with my friend Ferliza. She texted when I was about to go to bed asking me if I wanted to go out for a nightcap. I said, why not, since we have some catching up to do. All the while, she brought me to a bunch of heartbroken ladies needing comfort. It was fun, nonetheless. And the singer at the bar was also, well, feeling down. Choose happiness, I told them.That's my dear friend Ferliza, my new friend Che, and me, of course.

    3. I love solitude. As much as I can, I try to meditate a lot. I practice Raja Yoga taught by the Brahma Kumaris. I've been going to the center for almost 10 years now. Remember, solitude doesn't have to be lonely, if you know your true companion. Always, we need time for ourselves.

    4. I want to be a monk. A solitary monk. I've been considering becoming a sannyasi but I can't take the indignity of begging. I think monks are more dignified, and scholarly. If ever I become one, I want the one wherein talking is not allowed for life. The problem is, I'm not exactly Catholic. Check out this site of the Carmelite brothers: Carmelite Monks.

    5. I'm a Born-Again Christian. In fact, my mother has her own church back home. Although, its been years now since I last set foot inside a church. The last was at Victory Christian Church in Cebu. It was fun, and it was in respect to a dying friend, Fernalyn. Honestly, I started becoming disenfranchised from organized religion because I feel that they do not do what they preach. They discriminate and see other faiths as that of the devil, as such are enemies. I don't think Jesus taught this. He, after all left two new commandments, one of which is for us to love our neighbors as ourselves. This means, accepting them for who they are and not judging them based on their faith.

    6. I'm a Physical Therapist trying to get my license in the US since 2006. Now, I am a bummer with no source of income, and still hoping to get my license in the states. In the side, I work as a journalist and lifestyle writer.

    7. I'm in the process of becoming a vegetarian. So far, its been a success. As much as I can, I cook my own food since its so hard looking for one that has no trace of meat in it. Filipinos love their meat, literally. And its all over. We just love greasy, salty, sour, and meaty. That's why its hard to be vegetarian if you are a true-blue Filipino. The only vegetarians I know are either those who are on a spiritual path, or those who are there because they are sick. The latter, well, they try to sneak in a few slices of meat and fats every once in a while. Our motto: We will die eventually, so indulge and enjoy while you still can. My question is, what would be your last days like? Bed-ridden and incontinent because of stroke? Hmmm, I sure would not want that.

    Oh, and on a totally unrelated subject, allow me to express my gratitude to @we_deny_everything for mentioning me on his post. I am honored and flattered. All the best, to you, dear friend.

    Photo credit: Kamias: The Stops @ WordPress, Valentines: Che Roble, Monks: Going Like Sixty

    NEXT | PREVIOUS

Comments (34)

  • You are definitely a man of exquisite tastes.

  • I totally understand your wish for solitude now and then. We all need that time for ourselfs, contemplate our way and get back into teh world. Unless we become momks haha. Well if you are inzterested in that kind of thing, you may also be interested in the Carthusian Order. They live a truely hermit kind of life even within the monastry.
    I like your no. 5 views and totally agree. I do not understand how any person labeling themself as Christian can preach hate and doom towards anyone else for whatever reason. Th emessage is love and forgivness and sharing teh table with all our brothers and sisters whatever they believe, whomever they love, whatever they do.

  • Solitude ... the problem with that lifestyle is that there are too many heartbroken ladies needing comfort. You can't just ignore them, can you.

  • Longans and Lychees are two of my favorite fruits. I can get them sometimes in season at the Asian grocery nearby. I also go there to get banana catsup and tamarind candy (my favorite candy!!!) My sister is from the Philippines and introduced me to some of those treats - taught me how to make churros and some other goodies as well.
    I don't eat much meat - just enough to keep my energy level up and get along socially. It's hard to be vegetarian where I live too for about the same reason. BBQ, greasy burgers, and fried chicken are such normal foods around here it's hard to eat with friends and family with no meat at all. You'd starve! I know because I was vegetarian for 6 or 9 months and got down to a horribly low weight.
    I like the ideas of the New Testament, but rarely see them practiced in the Christians I know. Judging others is not only against the teachings of Jesus, but also just causes a lot of trouble and strife in one's relationships. I think it would be nice to be a monk/nun, but I think in that way of life one loses a lot of opportunities to be fully engaged in the adventures of regular human life so I go on with my meditations and live a semi-normal "American" lifestyle. Jesus said to live by example and try to show others a good way to live and Buddhist teaching says that when an enlightened one walks into a village everyone there becomes just a little more enlightened. I like these ideas and try to use them in my daily life.

  • I cook for one and it is difficult. A lot of times I wind up cooking up a big pot of food and freezing it in smaller containers which I eat over a period of weeks. If I do that with 3 or 4 different things I have an interesting and varied diet.
    There was a time in my life when I had to find and make time for solitude. For the few years I have more solitude than I need or want.

  • I have missed you so much Ritche but I'm glad you're working hard for what you want ^-^

    This was very interesting to read as always, when I was very young I also wanted to take the silence vow and the poverty vow, but then I fell in love and all good intentions vanished lol I still think that a life of sacrifice and love would be the right path for me, but now my life does not belong to me anymore but to my children and I try to do my best in the giving love departament from the role I have in life.

    Best of lucks Ritche and please know that you're always in my heart and thoughts.

  • very cool, good luck with obtaining the license

  • Gosh, I've tried to be a vegetarian, but the Filipino fare with the meat drives me back to being a carnivore. I love my Filipino bbq, lechon, tocino, etc. You name it.

  • I always thought I'd make a good contemplative monk. LOL! Thank you for sharing all this about you. I wish you luck in obtaining your license. I'm glad you have the writing to fall back on.

  • hehehe..... hehehehe..... hehehehe...... (drive by recing)

  • You're very interesting.

  • Very interesting!  I like it when you're around!  Some day if your bored come find my Valentines VLOGS and see yourself mention (in case you didn't already). There are five VLOGS on one page, and you are in the 3rd or 4th I'm pretty sure.

    When you said sour fruits, I thought you meant the candy, the gummies.  That's the only way we get that suff over here.  It's kind of tasty in a strange way.

  • Good post and I enjoyed reading these things about you. great photos too.

  • You have the talents to bring solace to the souls in pain.

    In friendship
    Michel

  • Why love fruits? because they are so available and sweet. Similarily women....

    I am not a good massage person. I start to take the patient too personally.

    I had a relatively vegan dinner tonight. I hope throwing out the first batch of boiling water would deactivate the gas that split peas cause.

  • That fruit looks really interesting!

    Hi if you get a chance at all could you go support this blog of my wifes?  http://divajyoti.xanga.com/759337464/your-xanga-bill-of-rights/  It would be much appreaciated.

  • @Iassi - oh I'll check on that Carthusian Order... sounds interesting :D

  • @we_deny_everything - hahahaha already took my vow :D

  • @oceanstarr - wow and we take banana ketchup (catsup) for granted...

  • @C_L_O_G - i like that idea...

  • @heart_leigh - hehehe i would agree... hope you'd approve my friend request :D

  • @songoftheheart - hehehe thank you, too :D for taking time to read :D

  • @RestlessButterfly - thank you, Rez... i find you interesting too :D

  • @DivaJyoti - Thank you DJ... oh i should take a look at that... :D im blushing already... :D

  • @Grannys_Place - thank you :D oh, how come we're not friends?

  • @fauquet - Michel, thank you :) just trying to be a good friend to everyone :D ... all the best...

  • @PPhilip - hahaha that is so true... about fruits :D

  • @NewDog2 - it is and the best thing is, it doesn't need being taken cared of... it just grows and gives fruits :D

    im definitely going to DJ's blog now :D

    all the best :)

  • @tribong_upos -  I like it much better than the tomato kind!

  • @oceanstarr - me too :D sometimes we use it as viand already :D hehehe on top of rice... :D

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment