January 7, 2012

  • So, I went back for my bottle of Pivo Praha

    Food

     

    I just couldn’t help myself. I had to go back to Dauin Hot Spring and Beach Resort for my final dose of Pivo Praha before I leave back for Cebu later this month.

    I believe it to be the best Philippine-made beer ever.

    Very honest, rich, and outrageously delicious.

    I love dark beer and San Miguel’s Cerveza Negra has always been my beer of choice, well, ok, Red Horse is still the beer I want to get wasted (the female beer, not the usual bottle that they sell, but the one that’s hard to find and comes in a bottle with slightly different design, we call it the happy horse).

    Pivo Praha only has 4.5 percent alcohol and the manufacturers claim that its brewed European style. No preservatives and just honest good beer. They say its microbrewed, which they say is something like home-brewed, not like the factory beers that’s made with no love but by conveyor belt. For Pivo Praha, they make it in small batches at a quaint restaurant down in the country’s financial capital, Makati City.

    In fact, its only available in the properties and restaurants of the person who brewed this beer, a certain Mr. Jimmy Bravo, no, not Johnny Bravo. And luckily in the Visayas, he has three properties, two in Negros Oriental (where I’m at) and one in Siquijor. Now, ain’t we lucky.

    Surely, if visitors want to come to the Philippines for fun, this should be a reason to drop by in Dumaguete City, to taste Pivo Praha.

    My favorite is the Dark beer, but they say that the German Weisner is also good. The Czech Light, well, it’s too diluted for me, and the regular Pilsener, well, let’s just say I go for Dark.

    Cheers!

    ***

    Oh and did I mention I met the wife of the owner of the resort. They arrived at the resort a few hours after me, so yeah it was not exclusive again. But she was so charming. She was with her brother and in-laws. She was there for the hot spring. We had an amazing conversation while I enjoyed my beer. She said that they make only a few of the beer by batch, which makes it even more delicious. She also said that her husband has started a magazine called Dayon! (Enter). I haven't seen it yet though I wonder what's their target market.

    ***

    While I was there, I got bored and took some photos of the clouds...

    ***

    Clouds, beer, hot spring, and sea... definitely #ItsMoreFunInThePhilippines! #1ForFunPhilippines!

     

    NEXT | PREVIOUS

Comments (26)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment